Oanda Broker + standard platform VS mt4

Hello community,

I am relatively new to FOREX. Been practicing on a demo account with FXopen and now with Oanda. After a few months of learning and positive results I am taking steps towards opening my first real account.

I turn to you for knowledge and learning regarding two questions:

1. Oanda Broker?

2. On Oanda there is the standard fxtrade platform and there is the MT4 platform. What are your thoughts regarding which one to use.

**I will be trading a small account. apprx. 250$ to begin

(thoughts, concerns, pros, cons)

Thank you very much, all help is appreciated :slight_smile:

I used them for years without ever having a problem, and I did a great deal of “due diligence” and research before opening my account there.

I think they’re one of the very best of the counterparty market-maker brokers.

They’re honest, ethical and reliable, have decent customer service and a good regulatory history (regulatory history is one of the most important things to look at, in my opinion, when selecting a broker).

You’ve made a good choice. :cool:

It’s difficult to answer this fully without almost writing a “book”, but personally, I’m [U]strongly[/U] in favour of FxTrade and [U]strongly[/U] opposed to MT4, which is clunky, unreliable and displays many indicators incorrectly (FxTrade is also not [I]quite[/I] perfect in that last regard, but still far better, in my view).

I opened an account with Oanda as my second/backup account only a few months back. It took precisely three trades to reveal that their spread policy cannot be relied upon and that their own bid/offers extend beyond the range of the bars actually showing on their MT4. Therefore using charting based on MT4 does not reflect the actual levels where their own pricing has been. When I asked them about it their reply was: