Canadian newbie

Hello I am a newbie from Leamington Ontario Canada and been studying baby pips and other technical analysis for several months. I am nearing retirement and wish to become a successful trader. I do not take this lightly and believe in educating myself in all trading aspects…technical analysis,fundamental and market sentiment as I believe these are all part of the big picture. I have recently taken an interest in the ichimoku kinko hyo trading system but I plan on opening a demo account in the new year and trying different trading strategies as laid out in Babypips to get a feel for what suits my as yet undecided style. Thanks for having me and I would appreciate any input from any forum members. (any comment on the ichimoku trading style?)

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Apologies in advance if I come across as pedantic (not my intention!) but [I]Ichimoku[/I] isn’t really a “trading [I]system[/I]”: it’s simply an indicator (an “indicator-set”, if you like).

If you’re going to be interested in indicators, in my opinion [I]Ichimoku[/I] is a very good one to be interested in. I have quite a bit of previous experience with it, and I know both institutional and independent traders who use it successfully.

For all that I think it’s a good indicator, I also think it can be a particularly difficult one to try to learn about, because there’s [I]so much[/I] misinformation about it online and in books, and I know it’s [I][U]really[/U][/I] difficult to find reliable information about it. In particular, several of the “forum threads” about Ichimoku which I’ve read both here and elsewhere have kind of made my hair stand on end. That’s the bad news. On a brighter note (possibly), if you have any specific questions about it, I’m very happy to try to answer them if I can, but I’m also quick to say “I don’t know” when I don’t know, and can’t guarantee to help you very much.