Does anyone really make money off of the Forex?

Unfortunately, reversing what you are doing doesn’t mean you ll be profitable… I have first hand experience.

Hmm well there are a lot of variables involved and it is not so clear cut as just changing a buy to a sell… you have to take into consideration the change in risk of ruin etc.

Most people don’t trade a method long enough anyway because they over risk on each trade and let their losers run and lose everything before that so it’s hard to say that a method is not profitable in the LR until you have tested it out sufficiently say over 40 trades and have blown up your account by following the rules strictly…

I don’t have first hand experience reversing my trades so you are the authority on this one :wink:

I am a newbie. Been studying and studying. Still not trading. I will someday, then I will know for sure if I am in the top 10% of traders who make money. Truth is like you say “The more money you have to trade, the better chance you have of succeeding in Forex or any market.” The brokers will tell you that, or most of them and if they don’t then they are doing the newbie a disservice. I can see why you lost so much money. But it sounds like maybe you played more like a gambler than a trader. I suppose after a few loses, say a couple thousand dollars a person might want to rethink his position and step back and say Hey! Maybe I shouldn’t trade anymore. But the Brokers are making money that is for sure. Us newbies are probably paying for there lunches, why do they try and get so many people into trading. If they weren’t making money then I guess they wouldn’t have to tell us newbies that Hey this is where the money is! Give it to me.

You’ve probably hit the nail on the head there in many respects. Brokers must love how popular Forex has become, the amount of people who must just open a live account and drop it all in and lose it within a week.