What is a 'trailing stop' and what does the 'trailing stop distance' mean?

Hi,

As you can see - I am new at this - but need to learn quickly.

My problem is this:

I have opened a Live Mini Forex account with a certain company.

When you place an order to buy an instrument you can place a ‘Market Order’ for that instrument at a certain price BUT these ‘Market Orders’ very rarely get executed i.e. you can wait for hours for the order to be accepted at that price.

On the other hand you can place a ‘Stop Order’ or a ‘Limit Order’ and both of these options allow you to set a ‘Trailing Stop Distance’. Using either the ‘Stop Order’ or ‘Limit Order’ with a ‘Trailing Stop Distance’ these orders to buy are always executed very quickly but never at the price that the instrument was at when you placed the order.

The same applies when selling and instrument (assuming that things have moved in the right direction and you now want to sell at a profit). If you put in a ‘Limit Order’ this order is almost always never executed by the dealer at the specific price but is you put in a ‘Stop Order’ with a ‘Trailing Stop Distance’ the order is always executed very quickly but again never at the closing price that was displayed.

I am assuming that the terms that are in quote marks above are common forex terms and not specific to the software (at least I hope so otherwise nobody will know what I’m talking about).

Let me ask this question:

Is there anyway to do this:

I want to buy ZAR and sell USD at 7.5000. When the rate changes to 7.4500 I want to sell ZAR and buy USD making a small profit. Is there any way to say ‘if the rate stays anywhere equal to or above 7.4501 then do nothing but if and when the rate goes equal to or below 7.4500 then execute the order’. On this pair the PIP is 13 and I still don’t understand what this is.