Do I really have to give my social security number and my bank account number?

Hello everyone,

I’m a forex newbie. I am thinking about registering a live account with Oanda. On their application form, they ask two questions that are very very personal such as

1. Your social security number and
  2. Your bank account number

I called Oanda today and I ask then if I can give my state id number instead of my social security number. They said that my application will not be processed if I don’t give my ssn. I told them that I am EXTREMELY uncomfortable giving that kind of information. I also told them that I do not want to give my bank account number and they said that this is a required field because they need to know the kind of clients they are dealing with.

…I need help. What do i do???

Thanks in advance,
Katy

Oanda already answer that question. I think this is common with all brokers, to protect fraud and money laundering a guess.

Money laundering aside, the brokers are also required to provide you (and presumably file) a 1099 for the interest you make/pay on your account. As such they require your SSN.

You need to give your SSN whenever you do anything that involves you and money, pretty much. You need it to open a bank account, every employer will ask you for one, if you set up an investment account they will do the same. Forex is no different.

As long as the site is legitimate and their information is secure, there should be no more of an issue than doing your banking. After all, many of the forex companies are, in fact, banks by definition.

If you aren’t okay with that, then stick to demo accounts.

Alternatively if they are outside of the US they probably won’t ask for SSN… find a broker located in the UK or something and see if they don’t ask. But personally I feel more safe giving out my SIN number to a Canadian/US company than I would giving my money to a foreign company without my SIN.

Can only agree with everything that has been said here,