How many lots is too many?

Considering I am a newbie and learning, and need a break from the brain melting education I have going on…I thought it would be fun to look at the more fun side and resolve some curiosity I have.

I know a standard lot is 100k. I know that Forex is very liquid…lol

But how many lots do ‘PRO’ traders trade? I would bet 10 lots of the standard 100k is not uncommon.

How many lots is too much though? Is there a number the big traders won’t go near due to issues of not getting filled?

There is no set answer for this. It all comes down to money management.

Personally I trade 1 minilot for every 5k I have in my account balance. For some that might be too high, for others npt enough.

In the inter-bank market trades of 5 million (50 lots) or even 10 million (100 lots) are commonplace.

with me, 1 -3% margin is considered ok, the larger the more risk

My starting balance was 5000. I never trade more than 150,000 units at a given time. My leverage is set to 50:1

I think the key is proper Money Management which I yet to still have it down.

What I do is calculate my maximum loss and work backwards from there. With a $5k account if you do not want to risk any more than 3% on any one trade, you max loss is $150. If you trade 3 mini lot positions (see my post in your other thread) then your max stoploss is 50 pips per position.

What that means is you should not take a trade where you would need to put your s/l beyond 50 pips to make the trade valid.
So stay away from the GBP/JPY where s/l’s usually need to be 70-100 pips. Find the pairs where a 25-40 pip s/l is more normal. But actual s/l will be based on the conditions you see when you enter the trade, not an arbitrary number.

Well, there are some great answers there but I was speaking from the curious point of view of what is or is not possible in the Forex market.