Hello there! And random walk model

Hi all :),

sorry for my poor English. I’m new to FX trading. I’m a telecom engineering student and while trying out a couple demo accounts, I tried to put my mathematical analysis / probability / signal theory notions to good use and elaborate a mathematical model which I could later use to create a reasonable strategy for a mini live account.

Given the huge amount of money traded (which should make it very hard for anyone or anything to influence the market directly), has it already been considered to model FX trends with a random walk, at least on a sufficiently wide time scale? Combined with the stddev indicator tool which I’ve seen on some trading platform, I think it could provide an excellent basis for a model.

I tried to build a very simple strategy built on this model, and I got a 95% success rate (although I’m calculating this just on the 20 trades I made so far after elaborating the model, which [B]can’t[/B] be statistically significant – but it’s still encouraging). The catch is that when I lose, I lose much more than what I profit on the average trade.

So anyhow, back to my question: do you think the random walk model is a valid one? What are other valid mathematical models?

Thanks,
Dario

I believe any method that incorporates trend-following, chart patterns (including candlesticks), or support&resistance levels, which takes into account good risk management has the potential to be profitable.

I do not believe however that a statistical model, that does not utilize one of the above trader psychology patterns, can have a true “edge” over the market. Even if you do find a mathematical pattern, I’d be willing to bet that it can be traced back to a psychological pattern of traders.

Lot of newbies to trading; stocks, commodities, fx
have a tendency to over-think and over-analyze.

And don’t get in the mistake of applying math, statistics,
or any level of statistical modeling to the concept
of trading. Please.