Demo vs Live Newbie Question

Ok, so I’ve been messing with demo account off and on for the last 2-3 years. I started a new stategy on a demo account at IBFX.com (Interbank FX) and I’m doing very well. At this point I’m thinking about going live, but I’m hesitant because I know a live account will act differently than a demo account… I just don’t know how different.

I mainly trade the eur/usd. At IBFX the spread is 2 pips. However, during a volatile market, I know the spread will widen. Unfortunately it doesn’t do this on a demo (They say it does, but I haven’t seen it… Maybe I just don’t have the platform open for these times). I’ve been avoiding the news announcements on my demo even though they don’t widen (I think) because I want to trade just like I would if it were a live account. This brings me to my concern…

*Lets say I enter a trade while the spread is just 2 pips. Somewhere in the middle of the trade it widens… let’s say to 8 pips. What are the possible problems I would face with the spread widening from 2 pips to 8 in the middle of my trade? How could it effect my stop loss and take profit?

*Does the spread widen often on the eur/usd at ibfx?

*What other problems will I face going to a live acct vs a demo and how severe are the problems?

What I’m afraid of is that I’m doing extremely well on my demo, but if I do the same thing on a live account will it work?

Any answers to my questions above would be greatly appreciated! The one I’m most concerned with is about the spread widening during a trade.

Thanks,
Doug

It sounds like your hyping yourself up into an idea that a live account will be drastically different. Trust me, dont go there psychologically. If you are consistantly profitable on your demo. Go live with a very low lot size and test the waters. dont psych yourself out.

the main difference is you.

Hi Doug,
Demo and live are exactly the same except the money is real and how you handle that fact.