Lower High and Higher low

I’ve tried to look for the meaning of “lower high” and " Higher low" I couldn’t find it anywhere. can someone explain for this newbie please? if you have a picture it will be great :smiley:

P.S. this is the first time I post in here. please excuse my english. I’m from Thailand. Also Hello to everyone :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I think that what they are talking about is the highs on the chart over a certain amount of time. Highest Highs would be obviously the highest point that price reached. I think Lowest High is directly under that like an average range of price highs that were under the HH. I think Highest Low is the same as well just in reverse. I don’t have a chart handy at the moment so I hope a veteran trader will jump in here and help us out. Please don’t take my word for it as I am still new to trading also. Sorry I can’t be more help. Happy Trading, Raven

See the thumb nail below, this was taken from the http://forums.babypips.com/free-forex-trading-systems/6632-alternative-technical-templates-77.html thread. The forex markets do not print
in straight lines but in a series of “peaks & troughs” high & lows.

For an up trend to exist the candles need to be printing in a series of higher
highs & higher lows.

2 Likes

The example below clearly shows price action trending to the upside. It�s displaying stair step type behavior, where the previous high steps are continually being scaled & the previous low ledges are maintaining their uniformity?

It highlights the fact that buyers are in command of this price chart & every time price action descends from it�s high point (HH), it attracts continued support or participation from buyers, thus maintaining the directional flow of money into the instrument.

The 1st signs that this trend or buying bias is beginning to slow down comes when prices fail to extend the �stair step� behavior, highlighted by the shaded area�s.