Best oversold/overbought indicators?

Hello everyone. I’m quite new to the Forex world and I want to use a system that incorporates oversold/overbought indicators. I know there are a bunch of different ones to use. I plan to trade on a 60 minute chart or less. Can anyone give me their recommendations on good oversold/overbought indicators?

I think stochastics are a good choice. I’ve been using them on various time frames and they seem pretty accurate at finding moments of extreme overbought or oversold conditions. Just be careful when it’s in the middle ground because at those times, the market could move either way even if it’s heading in one direction.

To tell you the truth, it doesn’t really matter in my opinion. They all do pretty much the same thing…tell you overbought/oversold conditions. The most important thing is that you understand what the indicators are telling you.

They do all act very similar. My weapon of choice is Stochastic. I also look at RSI, CCI, and OsMA.

I prefer to not to look as overbought or oversold but more to spot divergences.

You also have to know whether the you’re in a trending (one way direction) or sideway (directionless) markets.

You’ll get killed using oscillators in a trending environment but make a killing in a sideways one. The hard part is knowing which one in you’re in. :confused:

1 Like

Knowing whether you’re in a ranging or trending market is pretty difficult. Just remember that statistically, most markets trend 70 to 80 percent of the time, so you’re pretty safe with range bound strategies. Just always be ready for a big move because that’s where 90% of the money is made!

I have tried RSI and Stochastic.