Every forex trader busts their new accounts?

I’ve been trading for a few months on a demo account now and I’ve gotten a hang of trading. I trade on 15 minute charts and average at 100pips a week (although i do have negative weeks and happy happy weeks when i think i’m going to be a millionaire by next month)

However I’ve run into many threads where people firmly believe that [B]almost every[/B] forex trader will bust their first LIVE accounts no matter how well they trade on their demo accounts. How true is this?

Things to note though, I have been trading realistically, I intend to enter the market live with the same sum that I trade in the demo (> 10k definitely). I treat the demo account like real money too. I’ll be using Alpari UK, and I’ve read online that on average (non-news period) the live account order speed is 3-10 seconds, which is not a problem for me as I dont trade news periods.

But man, all this talk about people busting their first accounts is making me wonder whether all the preparation is really useful. Any advise?

I believe you used the demo to its full extent and are ready to start trading live so that you can learn something new: controlling your emotions.

For your own safety, I recommend opening your first account with half your trading capital. If you bust that account (which you don’t think you’ll do anyway), you’ll have a perfectly equal second chance. If you beat the odds and don’t bust your account, you could add your 2nd half into the account once you’ve doubled the 1st half.

You still have to make sure that you are going to be properly capitalized with only half your trading capital. If you are going to be using $10,000+ I think you’ll be fine, assuming you’ve have all the money management strategies laid out.