Backtesting software

I have been trading for about a year. Yes, an actual live account. I am by no means an expert in any sense of the word or meaning. I have been utilizing a volatility breakout type trend-following system for my trading and part of this process has forced me (by my own design) to manually backtest the system as well as others that i have looked at but not really traded. It is a cumbersome process and I do know why they created computers in the first place - to make lives easier, i guess. Or maybe more complicated.

The manual backtesting has been very useful for me to understand and respect price action. I have come across several interesting ideas, patterns, etc while doing this that has taken me down other paths. All of which, I believe, has enhanced my understanding of trading.

However, it is laborious and I think I have punsihed myself long enough to take the next step and backtest a system to determine its robustness across many markets and many pairs. I know this is a forex blog but I am looking at adapting my system (at the very least testing it) across commodities and equities.

I have searched on this forum for posts that might be helpful and although I have not gone through all million + posts that exist I did go through many threads to try and find insights into my question.

I have read the reviews of many but i would like to hear from some traders what they use, like or don’t like.

I have looked at Tradestation (shockingly - yes that is sarcasm), WealthLab, TradingBlox, Trading Recipes, etc.

I know its a broad question and subject to personal preferences but if anyone has any ideas to point me in a direction fo more information, etc., I would be grateful.

Of course, cost is a concern. I do not like to waste money where I would rather compound it.

Thanks.

I too would be interested in a solution with software to backtest.

Even a system that someone would be willing to share to backtest would be an asset.