Question about stop loss and best time to trade

Hi, I am just wondering that when doing short term trades, why would you choose to have a stop loss? Why not just wait until the trade has eventually gone up to make some sort of a profit? Also, I know you can trade at any time but I saw that there is a best time to trade for different pairs based on a country’s market overlapping with another market does this mean that the movement of these country’s currency pairs will be more trendy and predictable?

Im just a newbie to Forex using Oanda but the thing I like about it compared to stocks is that I can place a stop loss and a take profit order at the same time. I usually have a stop loss on all my trades just so my account doesnt get completely wiped out. I set my take profit order to usually yield a quick $300 profit and be done with it or ill use the trailing stop which is nice. It worked well when i was trading stocks and does here to. As far as time frames for different pairs go im still learning that myself.

I use metatrader 4 to trade either manually or with an expert advisor. When I open a trade I have been using both a take profit and a stop loss but am wondering why I would use a stop loss at all because that means I am willing to accept a loss. If you wait long enough the price will go up to make a profit especially if it has been going down for some time. If down then must go back up right?

SL is good because it is like a last line of defense.

If you are new or perhaps miss out on an impt event happening,

the price may move too fast for you to close.

happened to me before…

it dropped like a rock. I couldnt close due to reqoutes.

in the end, profit of 3k became loss.

besides i am sure you heard before of stories " i went to get the drink… when i returned … "

setting a SL doesnt hurt anyway right? why not?

Because it may never come back - at least not before you can no longer take the pain or get margin called.