Forex and taxes

Could someone who has filed taxes with forex profit/loss please explain how your taxes are done. I’ve read a few online articles and am a bit confused.

Also…do brokers send a profit/loss statement at the end of the year?

Oanda didn’t send me a profit/loss statement, but they do have that information on their trading platform. I just got my numbers from it at the end of the year.

Last year was the first year I had to report forex earnings, and I did it on IRS form 6781.

We still got our tax refund (from my wife’s job) and and no IRS agents have showed up to arrest me yet, so I’m assuming I did it right. :slight_smile:

Do you report the amount you withdrew or the amount of your account balance?

I report the actual amount that I earned during the year, whether I withdraw it or not.

Went to school to be an accountant so I have some background in taxes, not much mind you, I chose to persue more the financial statement avenue.

How you claim your forex income (loss) depends partially on how long you held the position. If you only hold your positions for less than 1 Year (most do) then they are considered short term capital gains and are taxable at your regular taxable rate. The advantage here is that Short term capital gains are fully netable against short term capital losses. i.e. I made $6000 in positive trades, but lost $3000, I am only taxed for the $3000 gain.

If you hold a position open for more than 1 year then it is considered a long term capital gain and is taxed at a lower rate (if I recall it is 15%).