10:1 leverage is MINIMUM?

hi guys, i am a newbie in FOREX. I just went to online chat with an Oanda customer service and learned that the minimum trade leverage is 10:1

i was taken by surprise as I thought there would be 1:1 leverage available but apparently there is none at Oanda.

Does anyone is any broker provide 1:1 leverage or does it not exist???

sorry, but i am really confused between standard account, mini account, micro account, leverage and such things…

please help. thanks alot.

For Oanda, there’s no minimum leverage you have to worry about. If you want 1:1 leverage, just trade 1/10tht the units you normally would, and there you go. You can even trade $1, convert it into .76 euro, and you have half a trade. Oanda is one of the only traders that doesn’t have mini/micro accounts for that very reason. They let you trade in units, not lots. Go to whatever broker’s website you want and read about the difference between their standard and mini accounts. Usually mini accounts have higher leverage and let you trade mini-lots, or 10,000 units of a currency instead of the usual 100,000.

Hey there Conan.
In addition to what Jonjon said, you might wanna as yourself if you fully understand the meaning of leverage. 1:10 is a very low leverage. you gotta have a lot (more than 10,000$) in your account just to open a single trade on a standard lot. I’d strongly recommand reading this before taking any actions. Babypips.com have made an excellent job explaining leverage with its positive and negative aspects.

Parpush, excellent recommendation to read our leverage question. :smiley:

Hi everyone,

Even though i tend to plan my position sizes based on a fixed percent risk rather than leverage, i had a question about leverage specifically.