Can someone explain why the falling dollar causes Wall Street to rise?

I’m a newbie in FX, I’d really like to understand why Wall Street and Commodities are currently on the up swing, apparantly due to a falling dollar? What is the connection?

Thanks
Alan

The Yen carry has been replaced by the [B][U]Dollar carry trade[/U][/B] which is the cause behind the effect of rising commodity prices.

The price rise is [U]speculator driven[/U] as fundamentals in many of these markets do not support prices at current levels.

Demand for the real product however, which in some cases has not been particularly impressive, is being supplemented by [U]speculative demand[/U] [U][I]which is forcing commercial hedgers to back away from many of these markets.[/I][/U]

Same principle aka speculator driven applies to equities aka Wall Street.

Well, I’m sorry, I’m not at an advanced enough level to understand this reply. I need a more basic explanation for a newbie… Thanks!

I just want to know why the rise on wall street is due to the falling dollar — i realize that commodities are rising due to the fact that they are cheaper to purchase with a cheap dollar…but the markets as a whole?

Financial Institutions aka Wall Street banks are stuffed to their eyeballs with “Money for Nothing” from the FED.

These institutions either lend out some of that money for minimal interest rates or do it themselves.

That “Money for Nothing” denominated in USD is used to buy Equities and Commodities. With the intention to drive the price UP.

They then SELL Commodities and Equities and pocket the difference of what they have to pay back in USD and the SELL price of Commodities and Equities.

The more “Money for Nothimg” floats around the more the USD falls.

It’s called inflation aka expansion of monetary base.

I need a very basic explanation, or a link to an explanation somwhere. None of what you say makes sense to me, I’m not up to speed on all the workings of macro economics.