Newbie question about leverage and margin

Hopefully some more experienced traders can help this confused guy an answer in layman’s terms.

If I deposit $1000 with my forex broker and I’m leveraged 100:1, and if I lose that $1000 would that mean I owe my broker $100,000?

Thanks in advance for any advice. I’m completely brand new to this.

I’m not sure what your logic flow is here. If you lose $1000 you lose $1000. Period. Full stop.

unless something really bad happens with the broker you can not lose more than your initial investment. you deposit 1000$ you can only lose 1000$ (99.99% of the time) in the fine print they do say something could go wrong that would allow you to lose more than your initial investment but i’ve never heard of that happening and i personally wouldnt worry about it
maybe very quick eratic price movements idk really what could cause it

[B]Hi racerx,[/B]

100:1 is now the maximum allowable leverage at U.S. brokers who are members of the NFA (this basically means all large, reputable U.S. forex brokers). This means that if you actually tried to enter a position which is 100 times the size of your account, you would immediately be margin-called.

[B]But, let’s walk through it, step by step, in order to illustrate how leverage and margin work:[/B]

[ul]
[li]You open an account with $1,000.
[/li]

[li]Your broker offers you leverage [B]up to[/B] 100:1 (this corresponds to a margin requirement of 1% of your position size).
[/li]

[li]you decide to go “all in”, and use the entire 100:1.
[/li]

[li]You place an order to buy 10 mini-lots of USD/CAD ($100,000 worth of currency — 100 times the equity in your account).
[/li]

[li]As soon as your order is received at the broker’s server, you will receive a margin-call and your order will be rejected.