I'm Confused About Leverage

Hey everyone,

I’m just learning about FOREX and while I was reading I couldn’t understand something about leverage.

Let’s say I open a micro account with $1,500 and I have a leverage of about 1:100. My account would have $150,000, right?

Now using this example from Trading Forex: How to Make Money in Forex Currency Trading

-You open one lot (100,000), buying with the British pound at 1% margin and wait for the exchange rate to climb. When you buy one lot (100,000) of GBP/USD at a price of 1.5000, you are buying 100,000 pounds, which is worth US$150,000 (100,000 units of GBP * 1.50 (exchange rate with USD)). If the margin requirement was 1%, then US$1500 would be set aside in your account to open up the trade (US$150,000 * 1%). You now control 100,000 pounds with US$1500. Your predictions come true and you decide to sell.

-You close the position at 1.5050. You earn 50 pips or about $500. (A pip is the smallest price movement available in a currency).

Say I make that trade and profit $500 dollars, how does this translate into what I actually have? Because it seems very unlikely that I would make $500 on my initial $1,500 investment.

Thanks for the help! :slight_smile:

Hi, J

The short answer to your question is, "Yes, you made $500 profit with your $1,500 account. After your trade is closed, your account balance will be $2,000.

A 50-pip profit at $10 per pip (which is assumed in your example) produces a $500 profit, regardless of the size of your account, and regardless of leverage or margin.

But, the trade you described is insane, because you used the maximum leverage allowed by your broker.

Technically, your broker would close that trade the instant it was opened. Here’s why.