Money Management / Profit Protection Question

Most of what I read about profit protection deals with individual trades, but I’m wondering if anyone takes a holistic approach, looking at entire portfolio profit, or if this is advisable.

For example, if I started with 10K, had four open microlot trades, and each trade was in the money 100 pips, I would be up 4%, which is a solid profit.

Furthermore, if I risked 50 pips per trade, and I used Van Tharp’s approach to money management, I’d be up 2R, which is also solid.

At this point, I would start thinking about protecting this.

But what if one of the three trades goes south to break even? Well, now I’ve “lost” 25% of that profit. And yet, the other three are doing fine, and I want to let them run if they can.

I guess this is a long winded of saying/asking: do you mainly look trade by trade, or by whole portfolio? This week I had the good fortune of having 8 trades open, all of which were up, for a total of 10%. As I see this total percentage get knocked down to 8.5%, I am tempted to close all trades to lock in total profit.

If you’re using proper money management your entire account should never be exposed to more than a 5% risk (or w/e risk you’re taking). If you were to say 5% per trade and open 10 trades thinking you were okay, you could lose 50% of your account during a bathroom break! :X

Right or wrong, I started moving my stop loss up to spread+1 as soon as it was an available option. After that I drag the stop loss up in increments that allow the trade to run on, but don’t suffocate it.

If I’m up 20 pips, I’ll got to +8, and if I get up 30, I’ll take it to +15, and leave it. For t/p, I’m looking backwards at the chart for trouble areas. As soon as it hits a congested price area, I’ll keep a close eye on it for possible reversal. If it comes back at me outside of that zone, market sell, and I’m outta dodge.

I get stopped out at +1 a lot, but I also have very few negative trades.