Thinking of moving to a live account, a few questions

Hi everyone,

Let me waste your time with a little bit of a background here before I start asking for advice ;):

I’m 21 years old, wrapping up my junior year of college. Last year I was an intern at a large bank’s FX trading desk. Prior to that I had messed around with demo accounts to varying degrees of success.

Now, my take on this is a little biased, obviously, but for whatever reason it’s looking more likely that I’m not going to come up with a summer internship. The last one I did through my school, so I was only competing against my fellow classmates, but this time I thought I’d go out into the real world and compete against the Harvards and Princetons of the world. Which was apparently a mistake I’m learning, as a lot of these banks won’t even look at you unless you’ve got an in through your school (which is insane, because I have trading floor experience, a 3.8, honors program, etc, but I digress). My school is good, but not great, and certainly not Ivy. It also only offers six month placements, not 10-week summers, which if I want to graduate I don’t have time for. Anyway, as I’m sure you can tell from my tone I’m not thrilled about it.

With that rambling done, here’s my plan. I need to make money, obviously. I figure I’d make about $6,000 on an internship. I’d lose roughly $2,000 paying rent in my city, leaving me with $4,000 that I’d have. I was trying to come up with ways for this to happen without having to do something degrading for the summer, until I realized that I’d been cleaning up in my demo forex account. For a couple years I’ve planned to open a live account, but because of work, school, etc. it never happened.