Determing trending or ranging market

Hi I have different strategies for trading either market, however, my biggest problems are determining which market we are currently in.

My methods are simple using support and resistance lvls. The whole idea for me is to try to get 30-45 pips each trade and my sl is the same lvl. It works for me because my winning trades outnumber my losing trades but my losing trades are usually because of my mistakes on determing market.

I saw in another forum someone had the same problems and the answer was that whenever there is major news the markets will start to trend, whenever there isn’t any news they will range. What is your opinions on this matter and is there any other relevant advice you can offer? Thanks in advance.

ps. Please no generic “you will get a feel for the market” answers or “you shouldn’t be trading if you don’t know”… they are just obnoxious and pointless. Thanks again

I’m new to BabyPips.com and Forex, but I “think” I know what you’re asking.

To get a quick idea of what trend I’m in, I look at the day chart and blow it out to see if there’s a clearly visible trend (like the EUR/USD) is right now.

I also look at 10,50,200 EMA on this chart. Basically, I look for a perfect order of:

200,50,10 for a downtrend.
10,50,200 for an uptrend.

The EUR/USD is in a downtrend. Looking on the daily chart, it’s easy to see that since Dec 09, it’s going down. Also the 4-hour chart over the past couple months shows this.

Should point out that for Forex, I’m more interested in longer trades verses popping in and out of positions all day long. So, looking for how the pair is trending today might be a little different (I’d still look for the perfect EMA order). When I looked earlier, there was a lot of sideways action.

But this is what I used to sell the EUR/USD yesterday. I don’t fight trends. :slight_smile:

Anyway, hope I’m not too far off from your question.