Fx portfolio question

Hi there,

I am a bit confused as to the computation of interepretation of variance on an FX portfolio.

Assume i have three pairs:
EURUSD
USDJPY
GBPUSD

I computer the covariance matrix in excel and mutliply with the weight matrix.

For weights, i use the GBP equivalent for each position divided by the total GBP for all positions. So, for example, if i am 1000 units of EURUSD long, i will multiply that by the GBPEUR rate to get the amount in GBP and divide by the total in GBP.

For the covariance matrix, i simply run the COVAR excel function between the pair time sequences.

This yields a standard deviation of 0.7040%
Does this sound resonable? If so, how do i interpret this result?

Thanks!
Ioannis

The result of COVAR isn’t a standard deviation. It’s more like the R-squared of a linear regression (but isn’t that). It indicates how much the data changes together. A high COVAR indicates data series which tend to move in similar fashion.

I’m no expert here, though. Stats class was a LONG time ago. You should do some research on the subject.

Thanks for the input Rhody. The standard deviation of the portfolio of any assets is computed by multiplying two x*y matrices, one covariance matrix and one weigth matrix. The calculation methodology is correct as i simply follow what is done for a portfolio of any securities.

It is the computation of the weight of each pair that i am not sure i am doing correctly.

Also, i am not sure how to interpret the standard deviation of a forex portfolio. I am not even sure if it is in GBPP… :confused: