Hi All- Newbie looking to get going!

Hi All,

Newbie here and basically I’m looking to get underway in my education into the world of FOREX trading.

Alittle about myself; I used to work for JPMorgan but have left employment to try and pursue my dream of making money my own way. I currently own a website which I am building up to pay the mortgage but my long term gameplan is to trade FOREX.

*I can hear already those of you shaking your head in disapproval at leaving a salaried job in pursuit of trading FOREX, a less than guaranteed form of income. But the truth is, worse case scenario, I go back into the world of employment if it all goes wrong (which it won’t).

At this moment I was looking for a little bit of help in order to hopefully quicken my learning:

1. Suggestions of what book/s have had the most profound effect on your fx trading?

2. What charting software is good for back testing systems?

3. If I learn my way on a spread betting site, are most of the skills transferrable should I make a switch to Brokers?

Thanks in advance.

Well definatly go through the babypips.com school.

For charting I prefer metatader 4 or mt4

As far as book just start reading everything you can get your hands on. btw there is a great thread on trading books started by pipcrawler.

It takes courage to make that leap of faith, well done and I’m sure you wont regret it for a moment. Once you escape from the cage there’s no going back in :smiley:

Regarding books, trade your way to financial freedom by Van Tharp. I dont generally advocate the theft of intellectual property, but in Van’s case I’ll make an exception and encourage you to download it !, Vlad Graifers Techniques of Tape Reading is OK, [B]Reminiscences of a Stock Operator by Edwin Lefèvre is a MUST read[/B], Jesse Livermore’s how to trade in stocks is OK