How to reduce risk

reduce your position size using maximum 4:1 leverage of your account. try just using 2:1 and always have a stop loss, atleast then it is going to take you longer to loose your money:)

One really good idea is to have a plan before you get in a trade. I found registering at meetpips and answering all of their (probing!) questions helped straighten out my plan!

Simple.

Buy a smaller position when you enter a trade.

Yea, I know. I’m a rocket scientist.

When you enter the market, you should
Know what the risks are. That will reduce
the risks somewhat. If the risks are too
great do not enter the market with that
system.

Backtesting is very important.

Forex trading is much much more than buying low and selling high.

Hello, pyramiding is one of the possible ways to reduce risk. It is discussed in great free pdf Phantom of the pits and Gravitons multi time frame trading thread.

Can you please give a sample what do you mean by Forex is much more than buying and selling high?

trav72 as you said

reduce your position size using maximum 4:1 leverage of your account. try just using 2:1 and always have a stop loss, atleast then it is going to take you longer to loose your money

how can i do manage my leverage my self some has fix leverage .

tell me then how could i reduce risk if the broker have fixed leverage?

Interesting question. Most retail brokers default is 100:1. So standard account = $1 a pip at $10. So scale back… Micro = 10c a pip.

the brokers confuse new traders with there stated leverage…there is 2 types of leverage to understand…the broker leverage is just a way of saying how much deposit you will need to leave with the broker to open that position.
ie. a $1000 contract with 100:1 leverage you wll need to deposit $10 with the broker to open that contract and the pips will be 10cents.
or $10000 contract 100:1 leverage your deposit will be $100
now this has nothing to do with your risk