Basic Risk Question

Hey all, I’m new to Forex trading and I have a question regarding risk and loss that I can’t seem to find anywhere, though it’s probably a simple question to answer for most of you on here.

It will take a little explanation, so here it goes…

Let’s say I’m trading AUD/USD, with a starting amount of $100 at leverage of 100:1. So using these numbers, each 1% increase or decrease in this currency pair will result in a real profit/loss of $100, or 100% of my investment.

Now let’s say that I open a sell trade, thinking that the AUD will fall against the USD. But instead of falling, it rises 1%, meaning I’ve effectively lost my initial investment.

Now my question is, [U]until I actually close that trade[/U], have I lost my investment? For example, if the AUD rises against the USD more than the 1% my investment would allow, will that trade remain open until I close it? Or will it automatically be closed when that threshold of 1% in the ‘wrong direction’ is reached?

I hope I’ve explained this correctly, but if not please ask for more clarification and I can see what I can do.

Thanks in advance for your help.

First off, instead of all the leverage/account percentage gobbledigook, start thinking in terms of pip value with regard to lot size.

The $100 lot size you quoted would be a mini lot. ($100 would not exactly be the used margin but it’s close enough for the purposes here)
The pip value on the A/U would be $1 a pip.

So, therefore, if you had a $100 account, you couldn’t even open a trade with a mini lot. You would be using a micro lot.

Let’s put this into practice.

Say you opened a $200 account, and opened a short trade at .9700 on the A/U. You’ve used your $200 as follows.

$100 to secure the position, now considered “used margin”.

You now have $100 left as “free margin”.