Leverage and loss question

Hi Guys,
I’m new to forex trading and have just started to read up on it on babypips and plan on as much study as I can before I risk any real money. My main concern is to “dig a hole I cant get out of”

I’m going through the lots leverage and loss lesson and have a question about how exposed you can be when using leverage.

The lesson shows a good example for a profit, what I would like to know is what is the risk for loss on a similar example. Suppose a trade goes horribly, horribly wrong. As in 2012, end of the world, money becomes obsolete back to trading shiny rocks wrong.

So for example, if I had $5000 in my account and put down $1000 deposit at 100:1 leverage and bought 100 000 US dollars. A few hours later the trading world ends and I end up losing $30 000 of that $100 000. Does that mean I have lost $300 of my $1000 or does that mean that I also lose money out of my $5000 that I did not trade and could also be in debt for a further $25 000?

Of course I would hope that no real trade would go this wrong and stop loss orders would prevent this sort of loss.

I realise this may sound a silly question to some but any help for the newbie would be apprecriated!

So for example, if I had $5000 in my account and put down $1000 deposit

I am not sure I understand this. do you now have 6000 in you account and trade a 100,000 size? at 100:1 you would use 1000 in margin. now you have 5000 or 4000 left to lose depending on if you started with 5000 or 6000.

The broker will try and stop your trade before you lose all of your money. Thats a margin call. This is in the brokers interest they don’t want to chase down people to pay up big losses. Exactly when your broker stops you out is usually explained in the agreement you sign when you open an account. Also there is always a warning about the fact that if the broker can not close you out you may owe more then your starting balance. I am sure this could happen but it has to be very rare.