Is this a system?

Hi to all

and a warning, I am extremely new to this!

Been trying forex for a while and just watching price action. I have been trading 1hr charts by taking long position above recent high if price action is above 200sma and the opposite for shorts. I usually get out after several hours but have found it to make some profit.

The problems I have is profitability drops when price action is near 200sma and also if I try SL of say previous high I get stopped out easily.

My question is this. Is what I am trying to do something that is already explored in this forum?
If not can anyone suggest how to determine a suitable SL without being chopped out all the time, and how can I quantify when the price action is too close to 200 sma and likely to not work?

Thanks for your patience

Bellamy

Almost anything you can imagine has been done to try and make a profit in the markets. The questions your asking is the same problem almost all systems have, and no one will be able to tell you whats right for you.

As humans we tend to see things we want to see…Is price less likely to do what you want it to just because its too close to the 200 sma?

I suggest you learn Elliott-Wolfe waves, Gartley, Gann and Murry Math & Lucas numbers. Once you get a grasp of these concepts you will know where to enter and exit with higher probabilities. Good luck on your forex journey!

Dude, the guy’s a noob, so take it easy with all these theories.

Wholeheartedly agree. Don’t try to cram 5 years of learning into a few months.

I believe that it’s better to point newbies into the right direction than get them caught up into chasing rubbish systems. Having greater understanding of how price waves work in all time frames is a good foundation to have. Trading is hard work and not simple.

I disagree.

The fact is, trading is VERY simple.