Where does the money come from?

Hello everyone, Im not terribly new to forex or trading, but I am still wondering on where the money comes from if I make a lot in trading. For example… If I make 10 million dollars at forex and I want to withdrawal that… does the money come from the market or my broker? Will my broker suffer the more I make? or does the broker receive the 10 million dollars, take out the fee’s and then transfer the rest to me? I dont know… hope I made sense .
thanks everyone

happy trading

1 Like

I am still learning, but this is how i see it.

When you close the trade, the broker takes the profit from the spread. So, 2-3 pips worth.
Everything else goes straight into your account as profit.

You withdraw it at will.

I wouldnt accept this as a true answer because ive never actually done it… only practice money.

The money comes from the person or people on the other side of your trades. If you’re winning, somone else is losing, and vice versa.

Hey thanks rhodytrader! I was thinking that but wasn’t sure if it was the same as stocks. But I appreciate it very much. you too simple101!

To add on to this… can you clarify a little more about the money that we small-fry traders would be winning?

I know that the majority of the market movement is from institutional traders (is that like 75%?) So I always believed that my tiny account was just picking up scraps from their slop.

I could be wrong about this, but I thought I read somewhere that Oanda has their own market among themselves. So if that was true, it means that my win is another Oanda user’s loss, right? And at some point, if they were to become imbalanced, then they as a broker would equalize in the interbank market with other big players, right?

At any given time, if I am winning a trade, do you think I am more likely taking it from another small retail trader? Or taking it from the slop of a large institutional player?

Thanks

[B]Hey, dusktrader[/B]