Stop and limit orders

hello i’m new to forex and i’m sure u’ve prolly heard these questions a million times :o…sorry…newayz i’m actually confused about 2 things right now
1)the limit n stop orders under pending orders…what do they exactly mean u know buy limit n buy stop or sell limit n sell stop n how n why do u use them
2)after using a pivot point calculator, lines labelled M (M1,M2.M3) appear along with the support n resistance lines…what does M stand for and what does it do.

thank you(hope it wasnt too much trouble)

I’ll tackle #1 and let someone else talk about pivots. They aren’t my thing.

A limit order is for “or better” execution. For example, if you have a buy limit order at 120, it will be filled at 120 or lower (lower being better).

A stop order becomes a market order when triggered. So if you have a sell stop at 100, when 100 is hit or violated to the downside (upside for a buy stop) it will trigger a market sell order.

This can all get a bit muddled with the way some retail forex brokers handle stops and limits, though.

Here’s a table that I made and posted to another forum several years ago, which answers the question you have raised.

Suppose the current price of a particular currency pair is 1.5000. The table shows:

[ul]
[li]5 types of orders — buy limit, buy stop, sell limit, sell stop, and market order
[/li]

[li]whether each order type would be placed above, at, or below the current price, and
[/li]

[li]what function each order type would perform
[/li][/ul]

I hope that helps you.

In another post, I’ll answer your question about pivots.

Regarding your [B]pivot[/B] question, the pivot levels labeled M1, M2, M3, etc., are simply [B]intermediate levels[/B], halfway between the PIVOT and R1, halfway between R1 and R2, etc.