Scalping or swing? Can't decide!

Hi all,

1st off I’d like to introduce myself! I have completed the excellent school here and have been actively doing a bit of getting used to the fx Market here and there when I get time.
My dilemma is (I believe the school here called it “multiple time frame syndrome”!) which time frame to trade?! As I’m a student I cannot trade until around 5pm GMT in the evening. I first started with intraweek trading (using 1hr & 4hr) however found it a little slow for my liking. I know this rules out position trading instantly! Recently though I have been trying my hand at scalping using a simple bollinger bounce strategy on the 5min chart. But I’m finding that I am only getting a couple of signals a day and due to not being in front of the computer I am missing them!

Can anyone offer some advice, maybe some others are in a similar situation with day jobs etc.?
Thanks! :smiley:

You can set a “Pending” order with a stop and limit. This will make it to when the market reaches the same price as the “pending” order, the broker will enter the trade for you and your trade will have stops/limits. Most brokers offer some sort of variation of this method to allow future orders.

Given the time frame that you trade, you aren’t going to see much action except when you are asleep or at school. Volatility will be very low for scalping, so I think you’d be better off swing trading. I’m not a big fan of swing trading personally. There are plenty of ways to sneak trading time into school time though :slight_smile:

Also, be sure to get to where you can backtest your scalping strategies. The bollinger bands aren’t very effective (at all) unless you really, really know how to use them and in which market and in each time interval, as well as each deviation and period of the Bollinger bands.