Can someone help me analyze what happened at 9:30am?

Hey all,

I’m a new trader currently in the information gathering stage, and I’m trying to make heads or tails out of some things I see on the charts. My goal is to learn a little bit each day, and hopefully wake up in 10 years with a wealth of knowledge. However, I digress.

Looking at the EUR/USD 15 minute chart today, there is a huge bearish spike at 9:30am. I was trying to figure out why. How did everyone know to short? I tried looking up to see if any news came out, but I can’t find anything other than a brief entry in the babypips economic calendar: “Euro-Area leaders hold a special meeting on Debt Crisis and Economic Governance.” It’s awfully short on details, cites no sources, no links, etc. (BTW, some of the times for these economic events don’t even match up with dailyfx.com)

I guess my question is: what happened? If I was trading at 9am, what should I have been doing to anticipate such a move? Which indicators or news sources would have signaled such a move? Where did everyone get their news?

Or is it just random? I don’t have a system or anything. I’m just trying to make sense of the ebb and flow of this thing.

Thanks in advance.

You question cannot be answered. First, what time frame are you referencing? 9:30 where-New York, Frankfurt, Syndey?

Second, there are no explanations which would answer you. These types of spikes occur often. Lately, with the Japan news, the markets are very volatile. Further, trading on a Monday morning is best left to only the most experienced traders-the markets are unpredictable after the weekend break and haven’t settled in yet.

You should always reference a forex calendar when entering a trade. A good rule of thumb is to never trade on a news day. There were two major announcements Monday morning affecting the EURUSD which could not be predicted.