A noob asking for advice

Hello, my name is Jeremy. I’m a total noob to Forex, I’ve gone through the school materials several times, and am in the process of taking detailed notes.

I apologize if this post is a bit on the long side…

I’ve created the following system, and rules for executing that system in terms of risk management.

I’ve played around with stock market simulators in the past, and have usually done well. I treat the money as if it were real money. I tried a scalping method at first. I executed the plan badly, and the plan itself was probably just as bad. I took a drawdown of 16% on a 1,000 USD demo account. Normally I use a swing trading style when I was using the stock market simulators, so I’m thinking of trying that out with Forex. But I can say for sure that trading Forex seems to be tougher. I’d like to ask for some feedback on this plan.

Thanks!

[B]Risk Management:[/B]

Risk no more than 2% of the account at any time.

Maximum Drawdown of 15 - 20 percent of the account balance.

Maximum leverage for the account: 50:1.

Usually effective leverage will be much smaller than this.

Decide where to place stop losses, then use this number to decide the position size. I’ll be using the handy position size calculator provided on this site.

Set a take profit order, as well as a trailing stop loss order. The trailing
stop loss order should be equal to the stop loss size.

Aim for a 3:1 reward:risk ratio, need to win ~25% of trades to be break even. I haven’t included the effect of the spread, but I expect that my stop loss/take profit numbers to be much larger than the spread.

Do not close trades early. Do not move stop loss orders away from the entry
point. The trailing stop loss will move stop losses towards the entry point to limit the maximum loss.

Avoid closing the trade before the take profit order has been executed. However this is not forbidden.

[B]Details:[/B]