Historical Analysis

Major-Newbie here, quick question…

Has anyone ever taken all the historical data of a pair and put it into a database, then written a program to go through it all with a certain strategy, report its results, change the strategy slightly (i.e changing the SL/TP or the times of the day trading happens) and repeating until they seem to find a proven strategy?

Do a lot of people do this? Or is this pointless because the market is too random? Or does noone do this to this extent because the processing power is too massive?

Of course I know that this idea isnt some sort of way to find a stategy that will guarantee profits forevermore… Just curious if anyone has any anecdotal evidence of this sort of approach

Cheers
Duncan

http://www.easyexpertforex.com/backtesting-optimization.html

dunctait - you’ll never appreciate how much it took me to find out it was a waste of time!

You’ll find this referred to as “back-testing”, and sometimes as “data mining” when someone wants to make a point about curve fitting. Either way, it’s an extremely common practice and their are whole businesses built around allowing traders to do exactly that. I’ll disagree with purplepatchforex on it being a waste of time. Researching different types of trading systems and methods can go a long way in helping one understand a lot of things, including what style of trading one is best suited to.

Actually, I was thinking of EA territory, but yes backtesting can be worthwhile.