Overwhelmed

Hello,

Thank you for this great site and service.

I am an absolute newbie, I am half-way through the School (at High School now). I am writing notes as I go along.

However, I am feeling a little overwhelmed. Yes, I will keep at it. Yes, I know that practice and patience will soothe things. Nonetheless, I have a few questions

• After I finish the school, I make a demo account and start trading. I am concerned that I wouldn’t even know where to begin. For example, eventhough I am halfway thru the school right now, if someone were to immediately put me in front of a chart and ask me to trade… I wouldn’t know what should be by first thought or action.

• Do I have to remember ALL these techniques? Or realistically do traders find their calling in a different subset of these techniques? I also find some of these techniques overlapping, yet with subtle differences.

• I am focusing right now on the School. Is there anything else I should do in parallel with my schooling? (recall that I am taking notes as I go along). BTW, it would be nice if there were quizzes/excercises at the end.

Thanks again for the good work.

PS: I apologise if such a post has been made before, if so, please feel free to direct me to any “absolute total newbie” posts.

greetings,

i’ve been trading a live account for over 3 years now and i still get that feeling of being overwhelmed sometimes. You don’t have to, and you shouldn’t trade when you feel like that. The “trick” if you could call it that, is to have a strategy for defining opportunities in the madness of a naked chart.

You sound quite intelligent so I’ll give you the fast track to get your trading eye focusing on the right concept. Support and Resistance are the absolute foundation of this market, and any other market with a lot of players in it with good liquidity.