Am I doing this right? or just confusing myself

Ok my friends so I have gotten some great advice from you guys here. I am still learning how to trade and am quite confused…

My question is “am I just confusing myself by switching charts?”

For example I might see what looks like a rising trend on a 15 minute chart with resistance 40 pips from right now and I buy in and set a limit of 25 pips only to have the trade go against me. When I check the hourly chart or daily chart its obvious that the currency has been falling for days. But then I tried to use a “Top Down” type method and found that my rising pair retraced right after i bought in…

So am i confusing myself with the whole top down switching charts deal or is it just I am still too new to understand whats going on? Should I stick to just one time frame for all my charts?

Thanks

I feel the same confusion you do, Id see a trend, then buy or sell, set a reasonable SL and TP and it seem to go against me, yet when I check the hourly or daily charts, its been following the same trend for a while.

I’ve only been learning FX recently, and on a Demo account, so would be nice what advice people could give on this :slight_smile:

Thanks

Dan

Everyone will give you different advice, so take each one with a pinch of salt, carry on demo trading and you’ll work out what works for you. Personally, I look at daily, 4hr and 1hr charts in that order. I’m also fairly new to FX to still fine tuning things and of course learning new tricks and techniques. Good luck.

My question would be, what are you trying to achieve on the trade? Is it a day trade or a long term trade that could run for weeks?

When you enter what is your target profit?