Position confusion

Hi Guys,

I’m using Metatrader 4 and I’m practicing with a dummy account.
From what I did so far, I can’t see what the term “position” really means. Each time I place a trade, I have “1” selected on the “Volume” dropdown box.

It seems unlikely to me that it is the same thing starting with $1000 or $1000000, but in my case it wouldn’t matter, because I only make things pip by pip.

Aside from the fact that I have more padding to lose more trades and keep on being in the game, can someone explain to me what is the difference between having $1000000 and $1000 in terms of profit?

Thanks in advance,

Dinis

Positions on MT4 had me confused for a while and I’m no expert, but…

1.0 = 100,000 units,
0.1 = 10,000 units,
0.01= 1,000 units

It’s all about the amount of risk that tou put forward per trade.

If you go to “Tools” next to the Forum tab, there is a position size calculator. Plug in the information it asks you for and it will tell you what size lot to use.

my rule of thumb is $1000 account= 0.01 lots,
$10000 is 0.1 lots,
ÂŁ100,000 = 1.0 lots.

I think there is a good section in the school.

Hi THEWALLHITME,

thank you very much again for your reply :slight_smile:
I’m still a long way to go to get into that chapter. I’ve tried the tool you’ve mentioned with the following values:

Account Currency: USD
Account Balance: 5000
Risk Percentage: 10
Stop Loss in Pips: 100
Currency Pair: EUR/USD

The answer was:

Amount at Risk:500 USD
Position Size:50000 units
Standard Lots:0
Mini Lots:5
Micro Lots:50

Does this mean I should be selecting 0.05 on the Volume option in Metatrader 4?

well, first of all, I would seriously suggest reducing your risk percentage to 1-2%.

I believe 50,000 units is 0.5 on MT4. However, I would say that is way too large for your account size. remember you want to reduce your risk as much as possible.

Doing the same calculation but only risking 1% comes up with 5 micro lots, which is 0.05 on MT4.