Your opinion

I am completely new to Forex and going through the school here on BP. (almost done)

I was talking to my pastor a few days ago who I didn’t know had practiced Forex for 2 years. He told me he had lost about $6,000 and spent tons of hours learning/studying on how to be a successful trader for 2 years.

He had practiced with a demo account which showed signs of success but when he got into the “real world” trading real money it was nothing like the demo account.

He said he feels like it’s “rigged”. That the brokers make money when you lose and that they have to cover your money when you profit. He also mentioned that he did everything the manuals/videos instructed him to do but had only a $50 profit one time throughout his entire $6K run.

I do trust him and know of him to be a pretty savvy individual.

So I’m asking you pros how hard is it to be profitable in this business? I am sure there are people making a lot of money but is this a business that you have to be really smart, have tons of money, and inside secrets to actually make money at?

Asking because I don’t want to invest countless hours at something that is nearly impossible to make money with.

Well, to me trading/investment seems to be like a marathon. You can’t get rich quick. For all those who don’t get their greed/fear/ego/mind under control and for some who fall for scams or other fallacies, this is a never ending black hole to put money in. If you do not have the goal to be in the top area of the 5-10% of investors/traders around the world one day (very probably not in the short term), I guess it’s better to take another opportunity to make money.

You are an individual, so nobody can make that decision than you. Your pastor might be a nice person, but if he is profitable or not is not in any way related to your individual success/failure and your individual trades or your individual life path.

Hope that helps.