Some newbie questions!

Hello to all at BabyPips.com

I’m a new member here and have a few questions. I’m new to FX so I do apologise if I’m being ignorant. However, I am eager to learn as much as possible and part of that process is getting advice from more experienced people.

I have a demo account with OANDA with £1000 in it, which I will start trading on once I’m ready.

1. How do you correctly calculate risk per trade? I want my risk per trade to be 2%. Does leverage factor into this equation.

2. I’m based in the UK hence my account currency is GBP. How important is this? Would there be any benefit in having it in USD instead?

Thats it for now, any informative answers I get will be very much appreciated!

Is that what you really mean?

Or do you mean, ‘how do you calculate [B]position size[/B], given a predetermined risk?’

If you have a predetermined risk percentage of 2% of your account value, then obviously your risk in GBP is simply:
0.02 x your account balance.

If you want to know how to calculate the maximum allowable position size corresponding to your predetermined risk percentage, here’s the equation:

[B]Number of Lots = [(Account Balance, in GBP) x (Risk %)] / [(Stop Loss, in pips) x (Pip Value, in GBP)][/B]

Pay special attention to one term in this equation: pip-value. For a GBP-denominated account, pip-values will vary with price for every pair, except the EUR/GBP pair. Therefore, you have to be able to find the appropriate pip-value, in order to use the equation, above. Check your trading platform for this info.

Also, make sure the pip-value you determine corresponds to the lot-size (not position size) that you are trading. For example, if you are trading mini-lots, make sure you are using the GBP-value per pip [B]per mini-lot.[/B]

Leverage does not figure into this calculation. If you use the equation given above to manage your risk, your use of leverage will take care of itself.