Maybe a naivequestion... (I'm a newbie after all :) )

Hi all,

think about the most newbie person of the world, that’s me. So, please don’t bash me if the question seems stupid or naive :slight_smile:
I was asking myself, if I have an account in USD, whether there’s some way to profit from a downtrend in EURUSD. I understand that I could earn pips from an uptrend by going long, but I don’t think the contrary applies, am I right?
Should I only look for downtrends in my account’s currency pehaps?

I hope I’ve been clear!

Cheers and happy pipping!

It doesn’t matter what currency your account is denominated in, you can trade long or short in any currency for profit.

Hi shroomhead! I understand that trading long and short is available for any kind of account, but I cannot understand when shorting should be used. Trading short and long refers to the main currency in the pair (i.e. EUR in EURUSD), if I understand well. So, if all of my account is in $, the only option I have is going long and I could short only active long positions in €. Is that correct?

Nope. You can go short or long on EUR/USD or any other pair.

Hello, zallaaa

When you take a LONG or SHORT position in the forex market, you are taking a position in a PAIR, not in just one currency. More specifically, you are taking a position on the RELATIONSHIP between the base currency and the cross currency in that pair.

If you take a LONG position in the EUR/USD, you are speculating that the EUR will gain in value versus the USD.

If you take a SHORT position in the EUR/USD, you are speculating that the EUR will decline in value versus the USD.

Think about all the different ways that the EUR could [B]gain[/B] in value versus the USD:

• both the EUR and the USD could rise in value (versus, say, gold), but the EUR could rise MORE than the USD

• the EUR could rise, while the USD remains unchanged

• the EUR could rise, while the USD falls

• the EUR could remain unchanged, while the USD falls