What I've learnt so far

Hello traders,

I want to share with you my experiences as a beginner trader. I’ve been trading on live for 2 months with a very small account, before that I didn’t spend much time on demo, but I did diligently study the babypips school and made some practice EAs before starting. I am by no means experienced or even intermediate yet, but I have learnt some lessons and maybe by sharing them other beginning traders might come to new insights:

[B]EA Robots[/B]

When I made the move to get into forex I was convinced that I could build an EA robot that would trade and make profit for me. In the first few months I spent my time learning to program in mql4, building robots, and testing them in the strategy tester. I learnt the following:

1 - The robots do marginally well, at best, and that is after a lot of tweaking
2 - Because so much tweaking is required, I believe it is impossible to make one that will work out of the box for multiple currency pairs
3 - Even if you get a robot doing well for you, it doesn’t mean it will make profit forever, you need to monitor and tweak it continually

So as you can imagine, I eventually gave up trying to program a robot. But I do not regret this period of my trading career: I’ve learnt the basics of mql4 and now I sometimes apply that knowledge to make simple indicators or scripts for myself.

[B]Trading isn’t easy[/B]

Just because of the fact that everyone has internet and that there are hundreds of brokers, doesn’t mean that forex is for everyone. It wouldn’t surprise me if most successful forex traders are well educated, but more often than not people who maybe aren’t suited to be traders are trapped thinking “That looks easy.”