Quick into and question

Hi all Aileen here;

New to Forex (always wanted to learn) and so when opportunity arose I took it!

I’ve just currently just started the School of Pipsology (2 days ago) 15% into Elementary so I thought I might utilise and leverage the knowledge of all you fantastic traders here in the forum.

My plan is to go through the whole of the education side first before I actually download the demo account and “get practical experience”.

I’m still getting confused with buy/sell (simple I know- but please, novice here so amuse me)

I’m looking to focus on the AUD/USD or the EUR/USD (still trying to decide- so happy to hear your thoughts on the pairs)

My question is this (using AUD as the base):

If I see the AUS dollar (economy is getting stronger) and i believe that I will earn profits doing so- does that mean I should BUY the AUD/USD ? Or conversely if I feel the USD is stronger does that mean I should SELL the AUD/USD.

Apologies in advance for my ignorance!

Aileen

Welcome to babypips :slight_smile:

Your instincts are correct. The rules are:

buy currency pair if you think LEFT SIDE currency in pair will rise AGAINST right side currency in pair

sell currency pair if you think LEFT SIDE currency in pair will fall AGAINST right side currency in pair

pairs tend to exist just once e.g AUD/USD but no USD/AUD but some can be found on certain platforms in certain countries both ways. This gives rise to two other rules for when your primarily looking at the right hand side - although it’s not intuitive at all to trade looking at the right side (e.g. selling USD/JPY when you think the yen will rise - irritatingly the number in this pair also falls as the yen is rising - dollar buying less yen):

buy currency pair if you think RIGHT SIDE currency in pair will fall AGAINST left side currency in pair

sell currency pair if you think RIGHT SIDE currency in pair will rise AGAINST left side currency in pair

This old post of mine may help help also: