What exactly happens when i make a trade?

hey guys im still relatively new to fx.

Im just trying to get a few things straight in my head an the first is what exactly goes down when I make a trade…

Example.
if I am looking at the EUR:USD pair, and I believe it will rise for whatever reason, I would buy the pair, for example 1 lot (100000) and the price is 1.5000. My account is in Australian dollars.

A. would my Australian dollars convert to the equivalent $150000 USD to purchase the 100000 Euros? and then any profit or loss in those USD be then converted back to my AUD?

or B. because I am going long the euro and short the USD, would I in a sense receive $150000 for shorting the USD and use that $150000 to purchase the 100000 Euros, then after closing the trade any profit or loss would be in USD, would it then use the AUD:USD rate to convert back in my AUD?

or C. another answer?

Thanks

Hello, lenzinger, and welcome to this forum.

The answer to your question is:

C. another answer

In the retail spot forex market (our little corner of the foreign exchange market), there is no buying or selling of individual currencies, or of currency pairs. We all use the terms “buy” and “sell”, because it’s convenient to do so. However, it’s misleading for newbies, like yourself, who are trying to grasp the mechanics of this market.

When we use the term “buy”, we actually mean “go LONG” or “take a LONG position”. When we use the term “sell”, we actually mean “go SHORT” or “take a SHORT position”. You can see why it’s easier for lazy people, like us, to just say “buy” or “sell”.

The terms “buy” and “sell” are firmly imbedded in this business. Traders, brokers, analysts, and teachers all use those terms; and, except for newbies, they all know what those terms really mean when they use them.

Let’s talk about what a currency pair is, and what happens when you “buy” or “sell” one of them.