Candle Basics and importance - When do daily candles begin to form?

Ok this is a rediculously basic question but I guess we were all ignorant at one point or the other.
I’m guessing that when you look at a particular time frame say hourly, then the candles begin or “open” at the begining of each hour. say the 3pm hourly open at exactly 3pm. Likewise for the 30min , 15 min and 5 min time frames.
But using US eastern time, my question is at what time do the daily candles open? is it at 8am US eastern time? and will that be same for all pairs?

also how important are candle patterns in analysis?

I’ve looked at the babypips school on candles but the only patterns i can see clearly in real charts are dojis and engulfing candles…do these really matter in anyones analysis or do you just look at your charts? thanks for any input and if possible show some pics of REAL (not ideal) candle patterns and how to recognize them when they are about to form.

EDIT: i started learning (and loosing) with forex.com but now i’m demo with oanda

To Floridaexchange :

These questions are now becoming more common on this forum. I will, therefore, give you a number of pointers.

Firstly, I think the daily candles open at GMT time. But if you have a good charting program the opening times of each candle is given underneath.

Candlestick trading is a whole world of its own. There are a growing number of posters on this forun who are switching to candlestick trading from indicator trading.

The reason given is that candlestick trading is far superior.

I am finding that I am repeating myself over and over again. To fully enlighten you, and to spare my repetition, I point you to the following hyperlink to understand candle patterns properly :

Japanese Candlestick Charting Explained

…and to the following threads to get a real feel and understanding of the awesome and sheer power of candlestick trading.

1. FOREXTOWN…“Indicators for scalping - Please post here” by Iinzall.