Why would you focus on particular currency pairs?

I’ve seen many people say that they focus on specific currency pairs, or that certain systems are most effective when used with particular pairs. I’ve been learning for a few months now and I’m coming close to finishing the Babypips school. However, when I’m looking at charts I often don’t even know which currencies I’m looking at. I simply search for the certain signals that I’ve been taught to look out for. I mean, technical analysis does not require you to know what pairs you’re trading, so why focus on a select few? Do some pairs give more reliable signals, or something like that?

Thanks

The spread can be too much in some currency pairs and also some pairs are just too erratic so managing your open positions on these pairs can be problematic.

Like so many things in forex, there is no yes you should always, or no you should never. The right answer to a lot of questions is like yours; It depends. . .

For some people it’s easier when they first start to deal with just one pair. As well certain currency pairs depending on your trading method are better to trade than others. Certain currency pairs are more volatile than others. If you break your trades down into trend, momentum, cycle and you were trading short term, momentum would generally be more important than if you were planning to stay in the trade for a while.