Sydney session question

Hello I am new to both this forum and forex trading, so excuse my ignorance please lol.

I am currently reading through the Preschool section, and in the trading sessions section there is no mention of the sydney session.Is there a reason for this…?

I’m not sure, is there something you’re trying to find out that’s particular to the Sydney session? Here’s a link to open and closing times as related to the others. Forex Market Hours | Forex Trading Times | FX Time Zones | OANDA fxTrade

Hi! We just merged Sydney trading hours with the Tokyo trading hours and lumped into the Asian trading session.

1 Like

Hello, [B]etycoon.[/B] And welcome to this forum.

What you have observed is probably an editing error. In some places the School refers to 3 trading sessions (Tokyo, London, and New York), and in other places the School refers to 4 sessions (including Sydney). Keep reading, and you will come to this page in the School curriculum, where the details of the 4 sessions are laid out for you.

Let’s talk about just how many forex trading sessions we should be concerned with.

If someone were to ask, “How many forex trading sessions are there?”, answers could range from 3 to 7, and each of those answers could be considered correct in certain contexts. For example —

• [B]3 Forex Trading Sessions:[/B] Tokyo, London and New York. This way of dividing the overall market recognizes the fact that the major banks in the interbank network generally operate trading desks in those three cities, shifting their “book” from Tokyo to London to New York and back to Tokyo during each 24-hour period.

The 3-session forex market is based on the assumption that the Pacific market (New Zealand and Australia), and the mainland Asian market (Singapore, Hong Kong, China and Taiwan) all trade along with Tokyo, during normal business hours in Japan. This assumption is [I]approximately[/I] correct.