Initial Capital

Hi, I’m pretty new to FX, so maybe this is a dumb question.

I see a lot of people recommend that you only start live trading if you have a sizable amount of capital. My (perhaps naive) understanding of this recommendation is that many brokers will only allow you to buy preset amounts of currency. These amounts might be too large and would risk too much of your account in one go; is this right or wrong?

If the above is true, then is it still bad to trade with a broker that allows any-size lots (e.g. Oanda) with a smaller amount of capital? It’s obvious to me that you have more potential for profit if you are trading bigger positions, which a larger amount of money would allow you to do safely, but otherwise I’m unsure why it matters since there’s no commission, only spread (which scales with your position size).

Start with a mico or nano account. Each pip will be worth 10 cents.

In a similar position. For me I think that $1000-2000 (US) is what I’m willing to ‘lose’ so is probably going to be my starting position.

Obviously I aim not to lose the money but I think during the initial stages you have to be prepared to lose a little and therefore may need some capital.

Since I am in HK there are plenty of services available for smaller traders even through online banking so the access for smaller traders is not an issue.

For a micro account I would suggest minimum $500 and really $1000 as a starting point and then keeping your positions opened to a minimum at the 0.01 lot sizes. It will take a lot longer to lose your money if you are no good at this and it will also give you ample time to find your feet and see if you are cut out for trading.

Please read this