My first ever Forex strategy - daily 10 SMA, what do you think?

Hi All,

This is my first ever post on babypips!

I have been learning about Forex trading for about 8-9 months. I have demo traded and live traded and so far have not made any money. I do enjoy Forex trading and the challenges it brings - Forex trading should be easy but after hours and hours of trying different strategies, I have still not created a profitable system.

So here is my first strategy that I am posting for your feedback. Please help and tell me how I can improve or if the system is any good…!

I plan to stick to only daily charts for the start of my Forex trading journey. I work full time and do not find it practical to sit at the computer screen waiting for the right set up on 5 minutes, 1 hour or 4 hour charts.

So here is my simple strategy:

Daily chart

Trading Pairs: AUDUSD, EURUSD, GBPUSD, NDZUSD, USDCAD, USDCHF, USDJPY (low spreads)

Indicators: 10SMA (Shift 2 - this is very important) and ATR 14

Entry rule - Long trade: When BULLISH candle closes above 10 SMA AND ATR is SLANTING UP. I would set a buy stop above the high of the last candle. I would check the current ATR value and use 20% of that value as the distance from the high of the last candle for the buy stop entry.

For example, if ATR value is 50, I would set buy stop 10 pips away from the high of the last candle.

Entry rule - Short trade: Exactly the same as long trade but the opposite. When BEARISH candle closes below 10 SMA and ATR is SLANTING UP. I would set sell stop below the low of the last candle. Using 20% of the current ATR value as described above.

With this strategy it is very important that ATR is slanting up, if it is heading down for long or short trade then I do not enter the trade. I would wait for ATR to head upwards before entering. A lot of times if ATR is not slanting up when price closes above or below 10 SMA, it can turn back the opposite way and I do not enter the trade.