Do I really need a set of rules? I don think so! What do you think?

Do I really need a set of rules? I don think so!

Hello dear traders!

I’ve been trading currencies for last 2 years or so and I also write a blog about forex. I have learned a lot of basics since I started trading and I even managed to earn over %100 with my $3000 DEMO account in last 6 months. I think that I traded for too long with my DEMO account, so I decided to open a real one, but I need to ask you something first.

Whenever I read some books or watch videos about Forex, people always say that you must have a set of rules when to enter a trade, when to exit the trade etc. I increased my DEMO account by %100 without these rules. I only had rules when NOT to enter a trade because I simply can’t say “OK, I will enter a EUR/USD trade on a daily chart when 20 EMA crosses over 50 EMA and I will put my S/L 50 pips below and my T/P 100 pips above” because every chart is different. I think Forex is a changing market and you have to look at the chart to see what’s happening. You have to draw support/resistance (they are different every time you draw them) to see where you could put your S/L and T/P, you have to watch Fibonacci levels…Do you agree with me? Do I really must have a set of rules when entering a trade?

yes you must have rules

Looks like you do have rules. Maybe not down on paper, but in your mind. Think about it. Exactly why do you enter a trade? Trending? Thresholds hit? Etc…
Money management. Surely you have something in mind. Trade management. When do you get out?
Your probably more in touch with you memory and don’t need to write things down, like the most of us. (me anyway)