The importance of reviewing your trade history

I’ve been a breakout trader since I started trading years ago, and one of the biggest things that has helped me improve over the years is reviewing my past trades to look for

1. consistent trade execution
  2. patterns in my trading

Doing so allows me to know what I’m good at, what I’m terrible at, and ways to tweak things around. Am I always wrong? Is my stops working right? What about moving stops? etc etc etc.

I just finished analyzing my entire January’s worth of trades, and wanted to share my findings with Babypips. Obviously this helps me way more than it does for you, but hopefully you can see the usefulness of doing this for yourself.

January Trading Analysis

————————————–

The /\ Trades: Won 5/6 trades (83%)
Lost two trades due to entering a fakeout in the wrong direction of the bias (had I traded the // both would have been winners therfore these two trades are omitted), once where I did not wait for confirmation of a break and entered a in-progress formation.

Looks like for the /\ I need to watch for the confirmation unless volatility is extreme, and can afford to risk higher due to the higher rate of winning for this.

————————————–

Breakout Bounce Continuation Trades: Won 3/4 (75%)

The only lost trade was due to greed (holding too long), and not exiting just because it didn’t hit the TP (but was really really close to it).

This trade will also afford higher risk due to the higher rate of winning. Have to watch out for overholding.

————————————–

Standard Box Trades: Won 5/15 (33%)

Guestimating an average stop loss of 20 pips, there was two moves that gave 105/140 pips which counters all of the losses. Almost all the losses was due to fakeouts and insufficient stop losses.

For Feb Standard box trades will use ridiculously small risk (I’m thinking 0.25%), wait for confirmation only (unless you get a monster fueled market swing).