Question About Dealing Desk Execution

Hi All,

Newbie here and this is my first post.

Got an email today from my broker that my account will be automatically upgraded and will have a low spread in major currencies. I said its great but as I read below this upgrade will put me to Dealing Desk instead of NDD. I only know that by being in DD the broker can manipulate the price against me so I ask my broker if they can upgrade me but I’m still in NDD. They replied that unlike all DD firms where they make their own prices, their DD still offering stream qoutes from the NDD feed and that they can’t manipulate the price and that their prices will still be from their liquidity providers which gives me a doubt.

Im new to fx so please enlighten me about this DD stuff they said.

This email also giving me an idea how bad I am as a trader as I am offered to be in DD :18:

hi lenerd5000!
am looking forward to seeing more responses on this - it’s an important issue you’ve raised. my initial instinct is that’s it’s a bit naughty for your broker to change your account type. Just because they call it an “upgrade”, you are right to be cautious. keep us posted.

There is actually nothing wrong in trading with a DD. You know that your stops and limits will be honored. Only issue is on how good the broker is in honoring those requirements.

Most DD’s make their regular income by marking up the spread. So if EURUSD is trading at 1.05 bid, your DD will quote you/allow you to buy at 1.0505 (his cut will be 5 pips from the market rate). Vice versa for asks.

Some DD’s, depending on a trader’s profile/trading activity (considering they are losing more than winning) automatically put them to B-Book, or in-house trades so they can make some extra $$'s, but in general with a DD your buy is someone else’s sell (not necessary at same price).